Ka – “Summer Video” & “Making of Grief Pedigree” Sidebars

Posted: April 20, 2012 in Hip Hop, Interview, The Making Of...
Tags: , , , ,

Ka – “Summer”

Ka dropped the video for “Summer” today, which he described to me yesterday, the following way:

That was my take on the Summer jam.  Everybody always says Summer is uplifting or makes some fruity happy song about Summer.  But to me, when Summer comes – you might have a day when you play ball or look at girls or whatever – but that’s when everybody be saying “who block this is,” and that’s when the shit really heat up.  The most violence happens you know.  That’s when people are catching the most bodies.  You know in the hood you see more people, everybody’s out, so you see people.  So that’s when the shit pops off.  So you know, there’s a million Summer songs that are different, but that’s my take on Summer right there.

I also thought I’d include a few snippets from our conversation that didn’t make the cut – just because they didn’t relate specifically to any specific track for the “Making Of,” but might be interesting to fans anyway.

When asked about what I perceived to be a relationships between gambling and violence in the certain songs on the album, Ka had this to say:

Listen you hear people talking about cee-lo, maybe there’s one cee-lo game in Atlantic City, maybe there’s one cee-lo game in Vegas – but in the hood, those thee dice are important.  It always starts off fun, but the shit never ends that way.  I might not have to pop somebody, but I might have to shoot joints over it.  But at the same time, it’s a gathering of men too.  You’re building still – it’s funny.

And on the subject of religious, spiritual, and 5% imagery in Grief Pedigree:

In the black community, all mothers and grandmothers go to church all the time.  My mom is a spiritual women and she used to go to church every Sunday.  She never forced me to go, so I never really went.  But growing up, there were was bibles around the house.  So it’s something where I read some and absorbed that along the way.  Then just speaking in the hood, everybody that was locked up and when they come home they have a spirituality.  Whatever god you believe in brought you through that ordeal.  Something brought you through that.  It just stuck with me where now it’s just part of my speech, it’s part of my thought process.  I don’t know what I am, as far as a religion.  Being righteous is what I try to accomplish – I’m not too concerned with religion.  In the end I’m trying to weigh the balances right.  I did a lot of foul shit.  I know I did a lot of shit that I wasn’t supposed to be doing, knowing that I did the shit wrong.  But hopefully in the end I balance that out.  So now, it’s just part of my vernacular, it’s how I speak.

Comments
  1. […] In case you missed it: Here are the two pieces of the interview I did with Ka this year on the making of Grief Pedigree (Part 1: Track-by-Track, Part 2: Additional words) […]

Leave a Reply

